VG Tribune

Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies Album Now Available

May 5, 2015 / 3:06 PM

By: Matthew Williams


Growing up, there were usually a few specific music tracks I could identify from each of my favorite video game soundtracks as ‘calming’. These track types would be the kind I’d listen to repeatedly on a rainy day or while attempting to fall asleep. Underneath the plethora of obstacles the chaotic world would throw daily at me, sat occasional moments where I could unwind by listening to these therapeutic songs. If such a playlist existed on Spotify (which I may create, after writing this article), it would include tracks like: “Yamato” and “Zazen Town” from Mystical Ninja, “Pallet Town” from Pokemon Red/Blue/Yellow, “Dezolis Town Theme” from Phantasy Star IV, and “Dire, Dire Docks” from Super Mario 64.

Some of these therapeutic songs were included in a recently released album called Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies. The album, produced by Scarlet Moon Records, presents ‘many of gaming’s greatest melodies arranged to sooth and relax’. Performed by renowned saxophonist Norihiko Hibino and pianist AYAKI, the album aims to generate feelings of nostalgia and relaxation for the engaged listener.

The full track list can be found in its entirety below:

  1. Lifestream (Final Fantasy VII)
  2. Dire, Dire Docks (Super Mario 64)
  3. Song of the Ancients (NieR)
  4. Lost Painting (Castlevania: Symphony of the Night)
  5. Maiden in Black (Demon’s Souls)
  6. Main Theme (Genso Suikoden)
  7. Singing Emotions (Chrono Cross)
  8. A Wish… (Secret of Mana)
  9. Auriel’s Ascension (The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion)
  10. Aquatic Ambiance (Donkey Kong Country)


Scarlet Moon Records producer, Jayson Napolitano, had this to say about the album:

Producing this album has been one of the most fulfilling things I’ve ever done. I would love nothing more than to produce a second album of this kind of material if the first offering does well. My mind’s already busy imagining which tracks might be featured if I’m given the chance to create another album like this, and of course, I want some fan feedback!”

If you are a fan of such music, the fully licensed album can be purchased on LOUDR.

About the author /

Matthew, a graduate from Texas Christian University, now works as a Senior Digital Analytics Consultant for Ernst & Young. With a passion for video games (mostly retro and survival horror) and data, Matthew is pursuing a career in game analytics.

Related Articles

Post your comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.